Radders

Random Ramblings; books, music, films, other stuff…

February In Books

20130227-195035.jpg

A bad month in the old 50 book challenge. Only managed two books this month and one of those is a children’s book. Even half-term didn’t boost my number. Loved both these books though so read on for my reviews.

Let The Right One In – John Ajvide Lindqvist

Taken me a while to get around to pulling this off my to-read shelf, let me explain why…I have no interest in the current vogue of vampire stories. Twilight and True Blood have completely passed me by and I don’t feel bereft for that. So, I was persuaded by somebody on World Book Night 2012 that I should take a copy and I agreed. I knew I would read it but it was never the book jumping off the shelf screaming “read me I’m going to awesome”.

So how do I feel now I’ve (finally) gotten around to it? Like an idiot is the answer. How could I let a novel this sublimely beautiful sit on the shelf for so long feeling unloved? This is a wonderful story, beautifully written. It is not as gory or bloody as I was expecting and in my opinion it is better for it. This is in essence a book about growing up and all the trials and tribulations that brings; bullying, alcoholic parent, falling in love…this book exudes warmth and emotion throughout. Yes there is a vampire plot but its pacy and almost melancholic rather than bloody and stomach churning. I loved the characters. I loved the plot. If you have any sense: read this book.

9/10 (Film has been duly added to my Lovefilm list)

Matilda – Roald Dahl

Why on earth am I reading a children’s book? Why not? The answer lies in Leeds Book Clubs new venture LBCPuffins. Adults reading children’s books. Love it. I adored Dahl as a child and am pretty sure I’ve read everything he’s done. The only book I’ve kept from my childhood (and yes I regret it now) is his Revolting Rhymes which is quite probably the best kids book ever. I remember thinking it really rude that Red Riding Hood kept her pistol in her knickers. How child me would despair at adult me!

Anyway, back to Matilda. Of all his novels I remember this being my favourite so I approached it with high expectations. I came away a little disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, this is an amazing book. It’s Dahl for crying out loud but I was a little disappointed how “ordinary” and real-life the story was. It seemed to be missing the magic element which I think other Dahl books do bring. I also struggled with reining in my adult brain…seriously would a teacher take a five year old home for tea, even back in the 80s?! I know, I know not the point…. Still a lovely story with an undercurrent of brains are better than beauty (oh how I long for life pre-TOWIE and airbrushing). Good book. Lovely illustrations.

8/10

Books read January: 6
Books read February: 2
Total books read: 8
Books to read : 42

One comment on “February In Books

  1. Cassie
    February 27, 2013

    It’s okay because Matilda is such a fun book. : ) You’re right about it being ordinary though.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in 50 Book Challenge, Books and tagged , , , , .
Until I Know Better

my (mathematical) back pages

teachanana

Head of Teaching and Learning in a medical and behavioural PRU

Miss Nell

History teacher at Stephen Perse Foundation, Cambridge. Always learning, and eager to connect.

All was numbers

Pythagorus 572 - 497 b.c.

Carol's Learning Curve

free english course, english, learn english, free english learning course, english dictionary, study english, english download, online english, language english, english grammar, school english, online free english course, english academy, words english, teaching english, exam, revision, gcse, reading, writing, language, gcse english revision, gcse english revision guide, bitesize gcse english revision, aqa gcse english revision, gcse english language revision, gcse english language revision websites, gcse english revision tips, gcse english revision sites, gcse english revision resources, gcse english revision papers, gcse english revision online, gcse english revision notes, gcse english revision help, gcse english revision activities, aqa gcse english revision guide, gcse english reading revision

preschoolchair

Oatlands Pre-School, Harrogate

likesitfast's Blog

only in your dreams!!!!

MrsMartinMaths

A blog about teaching maths, grappling with sets vs. mixed ability and Inquiry Maths.

rosalindannmartin's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Scenes From The Battleground

Teaching in British schools

wlowndes's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

e=mc2andallthat

A Physics teacher writes about...stuff.

etotheblogx

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Adventures of a teacher in training

following the footsteps of a early years PGCE student.

notquiteateacherdiaries

musings from a teacher in the making

