Radders

Random Ramblings; books, music, films, other stuff…

May In Books

20130604-195954.jpg

This Book Is Full of Spiders – David
Wong

Having Read John Dies at the End earlier in the year for a bookclub I knew there was potential here for me having discovered a new favourite author so I quickly purchased this, David Wong’s second novel. I had high hopes and I was not disappointed. Here are the same characters who you grew to love in the first novel, tearing through their scrapes and adventures with all kinds of creatures. Just like JDATE this isn’t a horror in the traditional sense. There’s nothing here that will have you hiding behind a pillow. It’s all a bit slapstick. Scrap that; it’s hilarious. A magnificent read. It’s very rare that I reread books but I certainly will be returning to Wong’s work at some point. Hopefully he’ll be releasing a new novel soon. Highly, highly recommended. 5/5

The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson
June’s bookclub selection for Leedsbookclub. I was pleased when this came out of the hat. Not because I’d put it there (if I had it would never have come out – sulky face) but I’d heard a lot about this book, lots of people were telling me how good it was and I’d read good reviews in the press. Maybe my expectations were too high but I was a tad (and just a tad) disappointed. The characters are well-developed and likeable but the plot? The plot is just bizarre, verging on ridiculous. I didn’t find the writing style easy to read. I’m not sure why, perhaps a lack of dialogue?! A nice read but nothing earth shattering. 3.5/5

The Humans – Matt Haig
I’ve followed Matt for a while on Twitter and I think subconsciously the retweets of positive reviews worked! I’m so glad they did. This is a fantastic book; the story of an alien on Earth. How would they react to human life? What would they think of the choices we make? How desperate would they be to get home? There’s a subplot of Mathematics here for the geeks but it in no way dominates the story. This is a tale of what makes us human and thoroughly enjoyable it is too. A book i will be recommending to many. 5/5

One Step Too Far – Tina Seskis
I received a copy of this book through the Goodreads giveaways scheme having applied based on the blurb. I devoured this book in a weekend. This is an easy read but with a solid plot. Why would Emily abandon her family and head to London to hide away under an alias? This book is full of intrigue, oscillating between past and present and slowly drip feeding clues and questions galore. Lots of plot twists to keep you on your toes. A good light read, perfect for the beach. My only criticism; I’m never one for happily-ever-after endings whatever form they take and there is one here of sorts. To find out what, you’ll have to read it. I don’t do spoilers! 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2013 by in 50 Book Challenge, Books and tagged , , , , , .
Until I Know Better

my (mathematical) back pages

teachanana

Head of Teaching and Learning in a medical and behavioural PRU

Miss Nell

History teacher at Stephen Perse Foundation, Cambridge. Always learning, and eager to connect.

All was numbers

Pythagorus 572 - 497 b.c.

Carol's Learning Curve

#teacher #teaching #education #academia #academic #research #researcher #secondary #FE #HE #lecturer

preschoolchair

Oatlands Pre-School, Harrogate

likesitfast's Blog

only in your dreams!!!!

MrsMartinMaths

A blog about teaching maths, grappling with sets vs. mixed ability and Inquiry Maths.

rosalindannmartin's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Scenes From The Battleground

Teaching in British schools

wlowndes's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

e=mc2andallthat

A Physics teacher writes about...stuff.

etotheblogx

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Adventures of a teacher in training

following the footsteps of a early years PGCE student.

notquiteateacherdiaries

musings from a teacher in the making

